Contact Information for Key State Policymakers

Exchange Type: State-Based Exchange
Essential Health Benefits:

Weight Loss Programs Excluded
Bariatric Surgery Excluded


Governor Dan Malloy (D)
Office of Governor Dan Malloy

210 Capitol Avenue Hartford, CT 06106
Toll-free: (800) 406-1527
Fax: (860) 524-7395

Chief of Staff: Mark Ojakian
Governor’s Scheduler: Aaron Frankel
Washington Representative: Dan DeSimone

Insurance Commissioner:

State Insurance Commissioner Thomas B. Leonardi
Connecticut Insurance Department

PO Box 816
Hartford, CT 06142-0816
Phone: (860) 297-3800
Fax: (860) 566-7410

House Health Committee Chairman:

Joint Public Health Committee Co-Chair Terry Gerratana (D)
Capitol Office: Legislative Office Building Room 3000
Hartford, CT 06106-1591

Legislative Aide: Terri Reid
Phone: (860) 240-0584, or Toll-free: (800) 842-1420

Senate Health Committee Chairman:

Joint Public Health Committee Senator Joseph J. Crisco, Jr.
Capitol Office: Legislative Office Building Room 2800
Hartford, CT 06106-1591
Phone: (860) 240-0189 Toll-free: (800) 842-1420

Weight Loss Programs Excluded Bariatric Surgery Excluded

State Medicaid Director:

Connecticut Department of Social Services Kate McEvoy
Medicaid Director
Phone: (860) 424-5067

State Medical Society Director:

Connecticut State Medical Society
Ken Ferrucci
Senior Vice President of Government Affairs
Phone: (203) 865-0587 (Ext. 106)

State Hospital Association Director:

Connecticut Hospital Association Stephen A. Frayne
Senior Vice President, Health Policy
Phone: (203) 294-7280

ACS Connecticut Chapter:

President Michael M. Deren, MD, FACS
Phone: (860) 433-5469


Visit the National American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Website


About Eric Berthel

Sen. Eric Berthel was elected to represent the 32nd Senatorial District in a special election on Feb. 28, 2017. Prior to that, he represented the 68th House District serving Watertown, Oakville and Woodbury.

Eric was born in Brooklyn, New York and has lived in Connecticut since 1976. He is a graduate of Pomperaug Regional High School in Southbury, holds a Bachelor’s degree from Manhattanville College and Master’s degree from the University of Bridgeport. He and his wife Krista have lived in Watertown since 1998 with their two boys, Matthew and Paul.

He has demonstrated his commitment to serve through his extensive involvement with the Watertown Board of Education during the last few years. In addition to the regular work of the Board, he has participated in all of the Board subcommittees, served as a chair of four of those subcommittees, served as Board Secretary and as Vice Chairman. He was also the Board liaison for three of five schools in Watertown and Oakville. In 2013, he was appointed to the special subcommittee for the evaluation of the Superintendent and in 2014 to the special subcommittee for the search for the new Superintendent.

His entire working career has been focused on healthcare communications, public relations, marketing and business development. He and his wife also owned a small retail business in Watertown. He presently works for the Hartford Healthcare Federal Credit Union in Hartford as their Vice President of Strategic Outreach.

He is an active member of the Watertown Republican Town Committee. In 2013, he was elected by the delegates of the 10 towns in the 32nd Senatorial District to represent the district as a member of the Republican State Central Committee (SCC).

In 2013, State Senator Rob Kane (R-32) appointed Eric to the Council on Medical Assistance Program Oversight, Connecticut General Assembly.
Eric served for two terms on the Board of Directors of the Hartford Healthcare Federal Credit Union and as the Board Treasurer.

He is a member of the Cercemaggiore Italian Community Club in Oakville. He has served since 2016 as the Unit Commander for the Brass City Unit of the Young Marines Youth Organization.

In 2018, Eric was presented with the “Legislator of the Year” award by the Waterbury Regional Chamber in honor of his pro-business advocacy at the State Capitol.